One of the industry’s favourite events, the Fellowship Luncheon, took place on Monday at the beautiful Dorchester Hotel on London’s Park Lane. As always, it was a chance to celebrate those in hairdressing who go above and beyond for The Fellowship and to present this year’s Fellowship Awards.

It was hosted this year for the first time by Chancellor Ken Picton, who brought plenty of humour and character to the role, cracking welsh jokes and teaching the audience funny welsh words and phrases. He was joined on stage throughout by President Karine Jackson and Chairman Jo Martin, who Ken affectionately dubbed ‘Ken’s Angels’.

Alongside a decadent dinner, including a ‘flaming dragon’ dessert that made it onto many an Instagram post, Fellowship members, sponsors and council members took the time to recognise the industry’s heroes. This year, the Fellowship awarded one incredibly special person the Patron of Honour award. Only three other people have ever been bestowed this honour - Vidal Sassoon, Trevor Sorbie MBE and Ann Herman. It was Errol Douglas MBE who was announced as the latest legend to join this glowing list, as a huge and incredibly passionate advocate for the Fellowship worldwide.

The event also saw the new F.A.M.E. Team members announced, along with the winners of the Fellowship Awards and Phillip Rogers took to the stage, as recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, to express the importance of the Hairdressers Charity and the work they do. The event concluded with Jamie Stevens being announced as the year’s Fellowship Hairdresser of the Year. He will carry this title throughout 2018 and be the star of the show at the Fellowship Hairdresser of the Year evening in November.

The celebrations continued long into the evening at the Met Bar, as guests welcomed in the Christmas season, reflecting on a fantastic year for the Fellowship and the industry. Roll on 2018!

Fellow with Honours
Kevin Day, Alan d Hair
Susie Mutch, Sassoon
Neil Atkinson, Mahogany
Ashleigh Hodges, Jamie Stevens Hair
Michael Young, Hooker & Young
Fellow with Distinction
Andreas Stavrou
Individual Salon of the Year
Melissa Salons
Salon Group of the Year
Russell Eaton
Project X Umberto Giannini Student of the Year
Ryan Steedman, Percy & Reed
Colour Project Achiever of the Year
Nicola Dow, Urban Hair & Beauty
F.A.M.E. Team 2018
Ellie Bond, Spargo Hairdressing
Katie Prescott, Toni&Guy
Peter Mellon, Medusa Hair
Paddy McDougall, Rainbow Room International
Terry Calvert Image of the Year
Sam Burnett, Hare & Bone
People's Choice Image of the Year
Angelo Seminara
Lifetime Achievement Award
Phillip Rogers
Fellowship Hairdresser of the Year
Jamie Stevens
Can we use cookies to improve your experience?More infoI agree